The Doctor Is In…I Think.

So, there they are.  Doctor David and Doctor Matt. 

I can’t think of anyone who didn’t like David Tennant as the Doctor, the enigmatic and romantic gad about who flies across the universe, breaking the hearts of companions and rearranging events on a whim.  He is, to many of us The Doctor.  No matter how good any other actor may be or how long his run lasts, we will forever think of DT as Doctor Who.

Matt Smith, on the other hand, is a very likeable fellow, and I’m enjoying his portrayal quite a lot.  He has brought something to the character that has a real sense of wonderment at his newness and wonderfulness (I know that’s not a word, but he acts that way).  The stories have been good, providing a bit of pathos to the mix as we watch things unfold.  It’s good.

I just keep thinking there’s something missing.  I don’t think it’s Matt Smith, because he is good and I do like him as The Doctor.  I do.  Maybe the pacing is off a little.  He’s not manic, at least not as manic, as the 10th Doctor, but that’s more the writing than the acting. 

I cannot put my finger on it, but something is missing beyond the obvious absence of Mr. Tennant.  Matt Smith is bringing his own magic to this, and I in no way am ignoring or missing that.  He does add to the legacy of this show.

What is it then?  I don’t know, for the life of me, I can’t figure out what it is I am wanting to see, and fail to, every week.  The writing, or the look of it…Amy Pond? 

I’ll keep watching it and hoping that it’s just me getting used to it as a new thing, a new approach.  But I want it to be fantastic, worth the wait and worthy of what came before. 

Perhaps Russell T. Davies is the real glue that held it all together, made it into the phenomenon that it became, and launched David Tennant into the stratosphere.  Maybe it’s like the Beatles.  Together they were unstoppable.  As solo artists, something was missing. 

Steven Moffat is a really good writer, but without Davies at the helm, I’m still wondering about how it will all turn out.

Leave a Reply

