Good Night Sweet Prince…

I can’t believe he’s gone.

I knew it was going to happen, as it’s been talked about for a year now, and interviews have been given explaining and cajoling about the inevitability of it all.

I had no idea how brilliantly it would be executed, though.  Russell T Davies wrote a script that will define him and validate his inclusion in the annals of scriptwriting greatness.  He provided the perfect vehicle for this dramatic transition.

I rode the waves from beautiful, clever  Dr. Who campiness, all the way into the abyss of his dread as he walked the path he knew was his destiny.  When Wilf knocked on that glass door…my heart skipped a beat.  The pathos and irony of that scene is going to go down in television history.  It must, because it was a brilliant twist and the actors played it to perfection.

To say that I cried is an understatement.  Right now, as I type, just thinking of that last line of the Dr., as the regeneration began…”I don’t want to go“.  It just rips my heart out.  I believed him, and as much as I want to love the new Dr., that is something I’m going to have to get over. 

With the transition from Christopher Eccleston to David Tennant, it seemed easy and natural. I imagine that’s the way it’s always been. Not having followed the show previously, I can’t say for certain.  The phenomenon of David Tennant’s Dr is something else, again.  And, knowing that he did, indeed, want to leave the show,  in watching the last scene with him, I completely believed that his Dr did not.  It’s as though that character on the screen really did have a life of his own apart from the actor portraying him.  I hope there’s an award in there some place for this. 

I watched the show twice, as it was shown multiple times on BBCAmerica.  I would have watched it a third time but I don’t think I could take it, emotionally.  I’m exhausted now.  I’m also glad that it’s on the DVR, and that I have pre-ordered all of the specials on dvd and will devour them when they arrive in February.

I’m a glutton for this particular type of misery, and I know I’m keeping company with millions of people who feel the same way.

David Tennant will be missed in this iconic role.  I don’t know if it will ever live up to his portrayal again.  I hope so, because the show is fantastic and I want it to continue.

But, how many times will I see that scene in my mind’s eye? … “I don’t want to go”.

Tissue please.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQcUnAxbFck

One comment

  1. I watched this with a group of other people and I was the only one in tears. They were all commenting on how he wasn’t dying with any grace and I was sobbing because I didn’t want him to die alone. (Thank goodness the Ood showed up… although that just made me cry harder.)

    I admit that a good portion of my tears were for myself. I grew up watching Doctor Who and then, for a long time, I thought it was all over. To see the show come back and evolve into something new while still honouring all that came before is nothing short of a miracle. Part of me is afraid that without Tennant and Davis the show will lose its magic.


Leave a Reply

