Forums For Thought

I like to visit a couple of music forums periodically, just to see what people are talking about and if there’s anything new and riveting in the trivia department.
Once in a while, I run across someone who is just so full of him/herself, though, that it makes me cringe to read the thread. God forbid a person should make an error in time or incident regarding the subject matter. “Off with their heads” comes to mind as the poster rips into the offender with the hostility of a warrior defending the homeland.
Is it possible that, without the face to face encounters normally reserved for debate,  these cyber forums have unleashed a personality defect that would have been otherwise undiscovered?
How can a person be so completely overcome by anger at the ignorance or, worse yet, disagreement that might come from another member of the forum? Has life been reduced to so little real input into our world that all of our passions rest in the expression of an opinion that, ultimately, will change nothing?
There is a line of demarcation here that needs to be observed. Commenting on the accomplishments of other people and analyzing their merit or, conversely, lack of such, is supposed to be a fun activity and a benign one at that. At least, that was my ideas on the subject. It amazes me the depth of conviction and emotion that is attached to our perception of what is, even if it doesn’t affect us directly.
Details and trivia. It’s big business and it’s huge on the “discussion forum” trail. If you go there, tread carefully. And, whatever you do, don’t give out your email address unless you can handle hate mail. It’s an ugly thing to cross the fervently dedicated fan with a contrary opinion. I know I’m going to be more careful.

3 comments

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

  2. Dear Glenna~
    I find that for the most of what you wrote is true but I also find that a lot of people have atendency to write alot about what they know very little about, and unfortunately here in this grand country of ours there are many that really know little and are even nasty about it. Eh, whatever, thaey can post me hate mail all they want, I actually get a kick out reading uninformed comments, it only adds to my original thought on the subject, nothing to get upset at really.


Leave a Reply

